Analysis II (Math 131B), Fall 2020

Zoom, MW 10:30-11:45am (Sec 01, code 44456)

Last update of this page: Fri Dec 11, 9:15am


Ongoing useful links:

Announcements:

FUA (Frequently Used Acronyms):

In the box below are some acronyms that I use all the time, both in class and when grading your work. You are welcome to use them as well.

(list of Frequently Used Abbreviations)

Administrative handouts:

Course greensheet, Tech expectations for Math 131B.

Course notes:

Course mechanics: Homework in Math 131B, checkins, Writing proofs.

Course content: How to do a problem set outline; Problem solving strategies in analysis.

Topics for exams:

Exam 1, Exam 2, Exam 3, Final exam.

Sample exams:

Exam 1, Exam 2, Exam 3, Final exam.


Online lectures:

Click on the link in the "Sections covered" column for a copy of the slides for the day; click on the link in "Extra slides" for other stuff displayed that day; and click on the link in the "Video" column to watch the lecture on YouTube. Or just check out our class playlist here.


Date Sections covered Extra slides Video
Wed Aug 19 1.1-1.2, 2.1 Motivating examples Video
Mon Aug 24 2.2-2.4 Video
Wed Aug 26 2.4-2.5, 3.1 Video
Mon Aug 31 3.1-3.2 Video
Wed Sep 02 3.3 Video
Wed Sep 09 3.4 Video
Mon Sep 14 3.5 Video
Wed Sep 16 4.1-4.2 Six NOs Video
Sample exam 1 Video
Wed Sep 23 4.3-4.4 Six NOs Video
Mon Sep 28 4.5-4.6 Video
Wed Sep 30 4.6, 5.1, 5.2 Video
Mon Oct 05 5.3, 6.1, 6.2 Video
Wed Oct 07 6.4, 7.1 Video
Mon Oct 12 7.1-7.2 Video
Wed Oct 14 7.2-7.3 Video
Sample exam 2 Video
Wed Oct 21 7.3-7.4 Video
Mon Oct 26 7.4-7.5 Video
Wed Oct 28 7.5-7.6 Video
Mon Nov 02 8.1-8.2 Video
Wed Nov 04 8.3 Dirac kernels, Cesàro sums Video
Mon Nov 09 8.4 Video
Mon Nov 16 12.1 Video
Wed Nov 18 12.2 Gauss kernel Video
Sample exam 3 Video
Mon Nov 30 12.3 Video
Wed Dec 02 12.4 Video
Mon Dec 07 Semester review Video
Sample final exam Video

Problem sets:

HW New definitions Outline due Completion due Last revision due Problems to be turned in
PS00 n/a n/a Mon Aug 24 n/a See handout
PS01 2.1, 2.2, 2.3, 2.4 Mon Aug 24 Wed Aug 26 Wed Oct 21 1.1.2, 2.1.5, 2.2.3, 2.3.1, 2.3.5, 2.4.2, 2.4.10.
PS02 2.5, 3.1, 3.2 Wed Sep 02 Wed Sep 09 Wed Nov 25 2.5.3, 3.1.2, 3.1.4, 3.1.6, 3.1.12, 3.2.4, 3.2.6.
PS03 3.3, 3.4. Wed Sep 09 Mon Sep 14 Wed Nov 25 3.3.2, 3.3.3(b,c,d,e), 3.3.5, 3.4.3, 3.4.4, 3.4.6.
PS04 3.5, 4.1, 4.2, 4.3, 4.4. Wed Sep 23 Mon Sep 28 Wed Nov 25 3.5.2, 4.1.3, 4.2.1, 4.3.5, 4.3.6, 4.4.1.
PS05 4.5, 4.6, 5.1, 5.2, 5.3. Mon Oct 05 Wed Oct 07 Mon Dec 07 4.5.1, 4.5.3, 4.5.4, 4.5.5, 4.6.2, 5.1.2, 5.2.3.
PS06 6.1, 6.2, 6.4, 7.1. Fri Oct 09 Wed Oct 14 Mon Dec 07 6.1.2, 6.2.3, 6.2.5, 6.4.1, 6.4.4, 7.1.3, 7.1.6.
PS07 7.2, 7.3, 7.4, 7.5. Mon Oct 26 Wed Oct 28 Mon Dec 07 7.2.4, 7.2.5, 7.3.1, 7.3.4, 7.3.6, 7.4.3, 7.5.4.
PS08 7.6, 8.1, 8.2. Mon Nov 02 Wed Nov 04 Mon Dec 14 7.5.10, 7.6.2, 7.6.4, 7.6.7, 8.2.2, 8.2.6, 8.2.7.
PS09 8.3, 8.4, 8.5.3. Mon Nov 09 Mon Nov 16 Mon Dec 14 8.3.1, 8.3.2, 8.3.3, 8.4.1, 8.4.3, 8.4.6, 8.5.5.
PS10 4.7, 4.8, 12.1, 12.2. Fri Nov 20 Mon Nov 30 TBA 4.7.3, 4.8.3 (not 4.8.6, sorry), 12.1.1, 12.2.3, 12.2.5, 12.2.8, 12.2.10.
PS11 12.3, 12.4. Wed Dec 02 Mon Dec 07 TBA 12.3.1, 12.3.3, 12.3.5, 12.3.7, 12.4.2.

Reading assigned in course:

From textbook: 1.1-1.2, 2.1-2.5, 3.1-3.5, 4.1-4.6, 5.1-5.3, 6.1-6.2, 6.4, 7.1-7.6, 8.1-8.4, 8.5.3, 4.7-4.8, 12.1-12.4.

Proof notes, Sec 23 (epsilonics)

Further topics:

Here are some possibilities for further study after this class, grouped into three categories, along with links or suggested reading that should give you an idea of what the topic is like. (For master's students: Most of these topics would make good master's theses projects.)
  1. More theory

  2. Practical applications

  3. Less practical applications

Other useful links: